Judging Panel

An independent panel of recognised and expert judges, led by Dr. Jane O’Keeffe (Director of Supply Chain, NMCI/CIT), and drawn from the highest echelons of the Educational Institutions in Ireland and abroad, will determine the winners of The Education Awards.


Our focus is to deliver a balanced judging assessment from industry leaders who will bring their extensive knowledge, enthusiasm and expertise to the judging process ensuring that the winning entries are truly outstanding and worthy of receiving an Education Award.


The panel is carefully selected to ensure the Awards judging process is fair and objective. The judges are bound by a strict confidentiality agreement and are required to declare any conflict of interest in entries over which they deliberate, in which case that entry will be reallocated. The integrity of this process lies at the very heart of all that we do.

A comprehensive judging process has been put together to decide the worthy winners of The Education Awards.

Judging Coordinator

Dr. Jane O’Keeffe - Director of Supply Chain, NMCI/CIT


Jane is the Logistics and Supply Chain course Director, and lecturer at the National Maritime College of Ireland (NMCI)(CIT) in Supply Management, Logistics, Information Systems, Business Strategy and Human Resource Management for both logistics and maritime sectors.

Judging Panel

Declan Allen - School of Management, College of Business, TU Dublin


Declan is an Assistant Head of School in the School of Management, College of Business, Technological University Dublin where he is Programme Director of the School of Management’s BSc in Logistics and Supply Chain Management degree programmes, the MSc in Technology and Innovation Management and the newly established Logistics Associate Apprenticeship.

Dr. Matt Cotterell - Head of School of Mechanical, Electrical and Process Engineering, Cork Institute of Technology


Matt is Head of School of Mechanical, Electrical and Process Engineering in Cork Institute of Technology. The School offers a comprehensive range of apprenticeship, undergraduate and postgraduate research programmes.

Prof. Willie Donnelly - President Waterford Institute of Technology


Willie Donnelly was appointed President of Waterford Institute of Technology (WIT) in April 2015, having held the position of Head of Research and Innovation at the Institute for the previous 10 years. 

Robert Farrell - Senior Lecturer, Griffith College Dublin


Robert trains world class inbound marketing consultants to help customers grow better.

Seamus Fitzpatrick - Head of Business Faculty, Griffith College Dublin


Seamus is a graduate of University College Cork where he undertook his degree in Economics. He completed his Masters in Economic Science at University College Dublin and subsequently completed further postgraduate studies in business and education in NUI Galway and UCD respectively.

Prof. Graham Heaslip - Head of School of Business, Galway Mayo Institute of Technology


Graham is Professor of Logistics and Head of the School of Business at Galway Mayo Institute of Technology (GMIT), Ireland.  Graham is a visiting professor at Hanken School of Economics in Finland and at UNSW in Australia.

Dr. Ingrid Hunt - Senior Educational Developer & Lecturer, Supply Chain Management, University of Limerick


Dr. Ingrid Hunt is a Lecturer and Senior Educational Developer in the School of Engineering at the University of Limerick. She is a qualified engineering graduate with strong teaching and research skills.

Dr. Teresa Hurley - Former Head of School of Management, TU Dublin


Teresa has 27 years of experience in lecturing and managing academic programmes and is currently on secondment from the Head of School of Management post at Technological University Dublin where she managed a range of undergraduate, postgraduate and executive education programmes in the College of Business.

Donal McAlister - MBA International Affairs Manager, Institute of Technology Carlow


Donal has amassed a wealth of Marketing experience in a 25 year career spanning the I.T., Food, Retail and Education sectors both in Ireland and abroad.

Dr. David McKevitt - Lecturer, Management, University College Cork


Dr David McKevitt is a lecturer and programme director at University College Cork, Department of Management and Marketing.

Gerard O’Donovan - Head of the Faculty of Business and Humanities, Cork Institute of Technology


Gerard O’Donovan is Head of the Faculty of Business and Humanities in Cork Institute of Technology where he is responsible for the strategic direction, people management and operation of the Faculty.

Dr. Alison Porter Armstrong - Rehabilitation Sciences, Ulster University


Alison is an academic occupational therapist employed as a Senior Lecturer in Rehabilitation Sciences in the School of Health Sciences at Ulster University. Alison’s research interests include: assistive technologies, seating and postural support, pressure care mapping, and innovations in stroke care.

Dr. Ciarán Ó hAnnracháin - Head of School of Tourism, Letterkenny Institute of Technology


Ciarán Ó hAnnracháin has worked in tertiary education, both public and private, for 30 years in the Irish, UK, US and Swiss education systems, predominantly working in the field of Hospitality and Tourism Management.

Dr. Tomás Mac Eochagáin - Director of Academic Programmes, Griffith College


Tomás is the Director of Academic Programmes at Griffith. His original qualifications are in engineering and mathematics (TCD) and industrial engineering (UCD). He also holds a doctorate in education from Queen’s University.

​Dr. Kieran Hickey - Senior Lecturer & Head of the Department, Geography & Head of the School, Human Environment, University College Cork


Kieran Hickey is a Senior Lecturer in Geography in University College Cork and also Head of the Department of Geography and Head of the School of the Human Environment.

For all enquiries, contact our team.

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

T: 01 407 0595

E: info@educationawards.ie

© The Education Awards 2019/2020.

All Rights Reserved.